Post 30 – Sunshine and Storms in Penwith

My recent trip to Cornwall was frustrated by the sensor on my Canon EOS 30D becoming very dirty and is still with the repairers for a thorough clean.  In addition on my return home I discovered that I was unable to switch on my P.C. which contains all my photo editing programs and is the reason why  I have not been able to update my blog until now.  Fortunately a new power pack started my computer and all is running well and I am now  trying to get through a mountain  of edits that have built up.  I sam still waiting to hear about my camera.

I am very fortunate that I kept my previous camera, a Canon EOS 300D, as a spare.   I shall be posting some Spring images taken on the banks of the River Thames using the 300D.  I had forgotten what a fine camera this still is baring in mind it is about eight years old.

Our week in Cornwall was fantastic, being very much kept on our toes by the company of two teenage grandchildren.  We rented a very pleasant cottage in Duck Street, Mousehole, which was very comfortable and complete with all modern necessities, including wireless.  We had three days of sunshine and four days of storms, which for a photographer could not be better.

CRW_6305

Mousehole Harbour South Beach 

Mousehole was quite quiet following the Easter weekend, which is a must to enjoy before the manic five months – May to September.  This image and the next shows the two beaches within the harbour wall virtually deserted in Spring sunshine.

CRW_6309

Mousehole Harbour North Beach

The two internal beaches at Mousehole Harbour are safe for children to play. The harbour walls protect the harbour from the outside elements and the water is clean enough for safe swimming.

IMG_7788

Duck Street

Our cottage is in Duck Street, a very narrow collection of old fishermen’s cottages.  The fishing industry has long gone from Mousehole and these very pleasant cottages have been turned into holiday accommodation.

IMG_7887-Edit 2

Lamorna Storm

Lamorna Cove is very dramatic, particularly as in  these two images the wind is blowing from the East directly into the cove.  Lamorna has been famous in  the past for its granite, which has been used in many major construction projects including the Thames Embankment between Blackfriars and Charring Cross in London built in the 19th Century .

Waves at Lamorna

Lamorna Storm – Close up

Lamorna’s other claim to fame came about in the late nineteenth century/early twentieth century when the Cove became an artists colony.  A group of artists broke away from the Newlyn School and came to Lamorna, attracted by the peacefulness of the place and the quality of the light.  Perhaps the best known Lamorna artists were Sir Alfred Munnings  and Dame Laura Knight, both of whom had studios in the Cove, both of which are available as a holiday homes.

21st Feb 054AH

“Isabella on the Rocks”

This is one of the few images of my teenage granddaughter who is, much to my disappointment,  somewhat camera shy.

CRW_6037

Longships

Longships in silhouette on a silver shimmering sea as seen from Cape Cornwall.

Longships are a collection of rocky islets located 1.25 miles west of Lands End, many of which are submerged at high water.  The first lighthouse was built in 1995 and rebuilt on Carn Bras, the highest islet in 1869.  If you look carefully at the far left horizon you can see Wolf Rock lighthouse, which is located approximately  4 nautical miles South West of Lands End.

IMG_7848

Annie, Isabella and Oliver at St Ives

A portrait image of my wife Annie and two grandchildren Isabella and Oliver at the water’s edge at low tide at St Ives.

St Ives picture C in C

St Ives Harbour Scene

I noticed a painting in one of the many art galleries in St Ives, which I liked very much until I saw the price.   Later we stopped for a lunch of fish and chips at a harbour side pup and from a first floor window I saw the exact same scene  in real life, even the grey colour of the sky was the same as the painting.    I spent a little time setting up my camera to try and replicate what the artist had seen.  I am quite proud of the result.

In my last blog I promised to post some images of the old industrial landscape on the north coast of the Penwith Peninsular, which I have had to postpone because of my PC problems, however I hope to be able to post these very soon.

If you would like prints of any of my images either here or at www.chrishotton.com please go to my Print Sales page.

 

Leave a Reply

